

The Senate STATE CAPITOL HONOLULU. HAWAII 9681:

Media Release December 28, 2012

Media Contact: Caroline Julian-Freitas/586-6261

Senator Donna Mercado Kim Selected as Senate President

HONOLULU – Senate Vice President Donna Mercado Kim (Sen. District 14) has been selected as the President of the Senate and will preside during the 27th Hawaii State Legislature, which will convene on January 16, 2013. Senator Ronald D. Kouchi (Sen. District 8) will serve as Senate Vice President. Senator David Ige (Sen. District 16) will continue as Chair of the Senate Committee on Ways and Means, with Senator Michelle Kidani (Sen. District 18) serving as his Vice Chair.

The Senate acted quickly to organize after Maui State Senator Shan Tsutsui (Sen. District 5) took the oath of office as Lieutenant Governor yesterday. The Senate line up remains mostly intact to allow members continuity in their committee work as the Senate has been preparing for the upcoming session.

"We are solidified in dealing with the pressing issues facing our State. The Senate continues to be organized in a cooperative and focused manner. I'm humbled to receive the confidence and support of my colleagues" said Senate President Kim.

"We reached an agreement quickly so that we can continue to focus our attention on the issues and begin preparations for the 2013 session," said Senate Vice President Kouchi.

A complete listing of Senate Leadership and Committee Chairmanships is as follows:

President	Donna Mercado Kim
Vice President	Ronald D. Kouchi
Majority Leader	Brickwood Galuteria
Assistant Majority Leader	Michelle Kidani
Ways and Means, Chair	David Ige
Ways and Means, Vice Chair	Michelle Kidani

Majority Floor Leader	Will Espero
Majority Policy Leader	Les Ihara, Jr.
Majority Whip	Gil Kahele
Majority Whip	Jill Tokuda
Judiciary and Labor, Chair	Clayton Hee
Commerce and Consumer Protection, Chair	Roz Baker
Agriculture, Chair	Clarence Nishihara
Technology and The Arts, Chair	Glenn Wakai
Economic Development, Government Operations, and Housing, Chair	Donovan Dela Cruz
Energy and Environment, Chair	Mike Gabbard
Education, Chair	Jill Tokuda
Tourism and Hawaiian Affairs, Chair	Brickwood Galuteria
Health, Chair	Josh Green, M.D.
Higher Education, Chair	Brian Taniguchi
Human Services, Chair	Suzanne Chun Oakland
Public Safety and Military Affairs, Chair	Will Espero
Transportation & International Affairs, Chair	J. Kalani English
Water and Land, Chair	Malama Solomon